Classroom, Debbie Ray


Martin Petitjean Elementary School in Rayne and South Crowley Elementary School in Crowley are two of nine Louisiana schools named National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education.

"The key to our children's future lies in excellence in elementary education," says Congressman Charles Boustany. These Louisiana schools have demonstrated high standards and significant improvement in achievement levels over the past year and deserve recognition. I'm especially proud of South Crowley Elementary and Martin Petitjean Elementary, who have demonstrated a commitment to our children and have made strides in improving elementary education in Acadia Parish. We are very grateful to our educators and the valuable work they do."

Boustany says there will be a formal recognition ceremony with Secretary of Education Arne Duncan happening in Washington, D.C. Representatives from each school have been invited to attend.

According to the U.S. Department of Education: “The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.”


Here are the seven other Louisiana schools named National Blue Ribbon Schools:

  • Baton Rouge Magnet High School, Baton Rouge
  • Benjamin Franklin High School, New Orleans
  • Louisiana State University Laboratory School, Baton Rouge
  • Pointe-Aux-Chenes Elementary School, Montegut
  • St. Aloysius Catholic School, Baton Rouge
  • St. James Episcopal Day School, Baton Rouge
  • St. Paul’s School, Covington