Apparently voters are tired of the dysfunction of the current Lafayette Parish School Board.

In Districts 3, 5, 7 and 8, incumbents were defeated by the challengers. In District 3, Shelton Cobb was narrowly defeated by Elroy Broussard (50.60% to 49.40%). In District 5, Britt Latiolais (R) ousted Kermit J. Bouillion (R) 60.51% to 39.49%. In District 7, Mark Cockerham (R) was beaten by Dawn Morris (R) 52.47% to 47.53%. In District 8, Erick Knezek (R) steamrolled Board President Hunter Beasley (O) 75.25% to 24.75%.

Districts 1, 6 and 9 now have new school board members after no incumbents ran in those races. In District 1, Mary Morrison (D) and "Coach Don" Gagnard (N) are heading to a runoff. In District 6, Justin Centanni (R) defeated Kathleen Schott Espinoza (N) 51.42% to 48.58%. In District 9, Jeremy Hidalgo (R) defeated Brian West (R) 61.22% to 38.78%.

In Districts 2 and 4, Tommy Angelle and Tehmi Chaisson were the only incumbents re-elected to the Board.