Louisiana Ragin' Cajun shortstop Blake Trahan is 1 of 60 players named to the Golden Spikes Award midseason watch list.

The award is presented in June, and given to the best player in college baseball. Last season, former Cajun Caleb Adams made the top 30 Golden Spikes Award watch list.

Trahan is in the midst of a 22 game hitting streak, one he extended last night in a dominating win at Southern. He is one game away from trying the school record of 23 consecutive games with a hit, set by Chris Webb in 1996.

The junior from Kinder is batting .380 on the season, with 16 RBI and a homer.

Louisiana (18-13) hosts Jackson State in a three game non-conference weekend series beginning tomorrow, with a 6:00 first pitch. Catch all the action on NewsTalk 96.5 KPEL on the FM radio dial, as well as kpel965.com, and RadioPup. Jay Walker and Jeff Schneider have the call.

The complete top 60 watch list for the Golden Spikes Award is listed below.

Name, Position, Class, School, Conference
Nick Banks, OF, Sophomore, Texas A&M, Big 12
Harrison Bader, OF, Junior, Florida, SEC
David Berg, RHP, Senior, UCLA, Pac 12
Phil Bickford, RHP, Sophomore, CC of Southern Nevada, Scenic West (JC)
Alex Bregman, SS, Junior, LSU, SEC
Ryan Burr, RHP, Junior, Arizona State, Pac 12
Austin Byler, 3B, Senior, Nevada, Mountain West
Will Craig, 1B/RHP, Sophomore, Wake Forest, ACC
Matthew Crownover, LHP, Junior, Clemson, ACC
Collins Cuthrell, 3B, RS-Senior, UNC-Pembroke, Peach Belt Conference
Tyler Davis, RHP, Senior, Washington, Pac 12
Paul DeJong, 2B, RS-Junior, Illinois State, Missouri Valley
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton, Big West
Riley Ferrell, RHP, Junior, TCU, Big 12
Michael Freeman, LHP, Senior, Oklahoma State, Big 12
Carson Fulmer, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Kyle Funkhouser, RHP, Junior, Louisville, ACC
Luke Gillingham, LHP, Junior, Navy, Patriot League
Ian Happ, OF, Junior, Cincinnati, American Athletic
Jon Harris, RHP, Junior, Missouri State, Missouri Valley
KJ Harrison, 1B, Freshman, Oregon State, Pac 12
Kyle Holder, SS, Junior, San Diego, West Coast
Tanner Houck, RHP, Freshman, Missouri, SEC
Ryan Howell, IF/OF, Junior, Nevada, Mountain West
Eric Hsieh, 1B, Senior, Yale, Ivy
Casey Hughston, IF/OF, Sophomore, Alabama, SEC
Chris Iriart, 1B, Junior, Houston, American Athletic
Tyler Jay, LHP, Junior, Illinois, Big 10
Ben Johnson, OF, Sophomore, Texas, Big 12
James Kaprielian, RHP, Junior, UCLA, Pac 12
Scott Kingery, 2B, Junior, Arizona, PAC 12
Nathan Kirby, LHP, Junior, Virginia, ACC
Sam Koenig, OF/3B, Senior, UW-Milwaukee, Horizon League
Kevin Kramer, 3B, RS-Junior, UCLA, Pac 12
Alex Lange, RHP, Freshman, LSU, SEC
Grayson Long, RHP, Junior, Texas A&M, SEC
Brandon Lowe, 2B, Sophomore, Maryland, Big 10
Kyle Martin, 1B, Senior, South Carolina, SEC
Brendan McKay, IF/OF, Freshman, Louisville, ACC
Andrew Moore, RHP, Junior, Oregon State, Pac 12
Preston Morrison, RHP, Senior, TCU, Big 12
Kevin Newman, SS, Junior, Arizona, Pac 12
Kade Scivicque, C, Senior, LSU, SEC
Chris Shaw, OF, Junior, Boston College, ACC
Mike Shawaryn, RHP, Sophomore, Maryland, Big 10
Logan Shore, RHP, Sophomore, Florida, SEC
Bobby Stahel, OF, RS-Junior, USC, Pac 12
DJ Stewart, OF, Junior, Florida State, ACC
Christin Stewart, OF, Junior, Tennessee, SEC
Garrett Stubbs, C, Senior, USC, Pac 12
Dansby Swanson, SS, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Dillon Tate, RHP, Junior, UCSB, Big West
David Thompson, 3B, Junior, Miami, ACC
Josh Tobias, 3B, Senior, Florida, SEC
Blake Trahan, SS, Junior, Louisiana, Sun Belt
Mitchell Traver, RHP, RS-Sophomore, TCU, Big 12
Mikey White, SS, Junior, Alabama, SEC
Zander Wiel, 1B, RS Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Tommy Williams, SS, Senior, UCF, American Athletic
Trey York, 2B, Junior, East Tennessee State, SoCon