Wildfire (Photo by Michael Bocchieri/Getty Images)

The State Fire Marshall's Office has ordered a burn ban across much of north Louisiana. 

Drought conditions have caused the ban to be enacted across fourteen parishes including Caddo,
Bossier,  DeSoto,  Sabine,  Webster,  Red  River, Natchitoches, Winn, Jackson, Union, Caldwell, Richland, Franklin  and  West  Carroll.

Burning trash, campfires or even misplaced cigarettes could cause widespread fires in the piney woods of Louisiana.