Here is your 9 PM update on races across Lafayette Parish and Louisiana.


Democrat John Bel Edwards (39%) is heading to a runoff with Republican David Vitter (23%). Angelle (R) has conceded with 20% of the vote and Dardenne (R) has conceded with 14%.

Lieutenant Governor

With 94% of the vote, Democrat "Kip" Holden leads with 32% of the vote while Republican Billy Nungesser has 30% and John Young (R) currently has 29%.

State Treasurer

Republican John Kennedy has won reelection with 83% of the vote over challenger Jennifer Treadway.

Secretary of State

(R) Incumbent Tom Schedler has been relected with 64% of the vote to (D) Chris Tyson’s 36%.

Attorney General

Republican incumbent Buddy Caldwell (35%) and Jeff Landry (33%) appear headed to a runoff.

Ag Commissioner

Republican incumbent Mike Strain has won reelection with 58% of the vote to Democrat Charlie Greer’s 30%.

Insurance Commissioner

Republican incumbent Jim Donelon leads with 54%. Next challenger is Charlotte C. McDaniel McGehee (DEM) with 18%.

Lafayette City-Parish President

Republican Joel Robideaux has defeated (R) Dee Stanley with 56% of the vote to Stanley’s 44%.

Lafayette Parish Sheriff

Mark Garber (46%) and Chad Leger (39%) appear headed to a runoff. Rick Chargois finished with 11% and John Rogers garnered 4%.