Louisiana sophomore running back Elijah McGuire has been named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the league's coaches and selected media members.

McGuire was also named the league's Offensive Player of the Year.  He is the first Cajun to ever been named both in the same season.

McGuire rushed for 1165 yards and 14 touchdowns on the season, while also leading the Cajuns in receptions with 40.  McGuire was also named the league's best all-purpose player, also returning punts for the Cajuns.

Texas State's David Mayo tied a Sun Belt Conference record with 151 tackes en route to being named the league's best defensive player, while Appalachian State quarterback Taylor Lamb was named the league's top freshman.    Georgia Southern's Willie Fritz was named the Coach of the Year.

Other Cajuns named first team all-conference were offensive lineman Daniel Quave and defensive linemen Christian Ringo and Justin Hamilton.

“I’m very excited for all of the players who earned All-Sun Belt Conference honors,” Louisiana head coach Mark Hudspeth said in a University press release. “They were very deserving and it is a sign of all of the hard work that they put in. We felt like there were some others that definitely should have made it, I’m a little disappointed about that they didn’t. But I’m very proud of the ones that did."

Offensive lineman Mykhael Quave was named to the second team, along with defensive back Corey Trim and kicker Hunter Stover.  Tight End Larry Pettis, quarterback Terrance Broadway, linebacker Dominique Tovell and center Terry Johnson all named honorable mention.  Freshman defensive back Tracy Walker was named to the league's all-newcomer team.

The entire list of honorees can be found by clicking here.