BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Gov. John Bel Edwards' request has been granted to amend the existing federal Major Presidential Declaration for Louisiana  to include additional parishes affected by recent flooding.

Edwards said Tuesday he decided to amend the request after travelling to the disaster areas.

Edwards asked for individual assistance and sought public assistance to repair or replace disaster-damaged facilities in the following new parishes:

Beauregard, Bienville, Caddo, Caldwell, DeSoto, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Natchitoches, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, West Carroll, and Winn. They join Bossier, Claiborne, Grant, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland and Webster parishes.

The governor said the Federal Emergency Management Agency has deployed workers to the state to support registration for the Individual Assistance Grant program.

President Barack Obama declared the state a major disaster area on Sunday.


Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.