KENNER, La. (AP) — The Jefferson Parish School Board has voted 8-1 to close seven campuses.

The campuses to close include: Kate Middleton Elementary in Gretna, Homedale Elementary in Harvey, Rillieux Elementary in Waggaman, Maggiore Elementary in Metairie, Bunche Academy in Metairie, St. Ville Academy in Harvey and Waggaman School.

The Times-Picayune reports the first four are traditional elementary schools whose students will disperse to other sites. The others are alternative programs for students struggling academically, which will shift onto high school campuses or join other alternative sites.

School officials said Wednesday the closure and consolidation plan grew from a drive to reorganize a school system that hasn't adjusted to decades of enrollment erosion and from an effort to balance a budget for 2012-13 that faces a $25 million deficit.