The Lafayette Parish School Board is under new leadership.

Shelton Cobb was elected as the new president after his nomination was seconded unanimously.

Signs of a split in the board's membership, though, showed after Hunter Beasley was elected as vice president on a five to four vote. New superintendent Pat Cooper was chosen by the same margin.