The Lafayette Education Foundation held its annual Teachers’ Awards program at the Heymann Center Thursday night.

News partner KATC reported that there was a 600-person nominee field that was narrowed down to 16 teachers who were recognized before a packed house.

The 16 teachers recognized were:

Elementary School Category

Cynthia Chastant-Callen – Charles Burke Elementary –1st-5th Grade Special Ed

Erin Dowd – Green T. Lindon Elementary – 4th Grade

Kimberly G. Kidder – J. Wallace James Elementary –PreK-5th Speech Therapist

Shalita Manuel-Jackson – Lafayette Renaissance Charter Academy – 4th Grade

Middle School Category

Debbie Arceneaux – Broussard Middle – 5th-8th Grade Choir and Piano

Tanya Chiasson – St. Pius Catholic School – 7th Grade English & Language Arts

Rowdy Huval – Broussard Middle – 5th-8th Grade P.E. & Football Coach

Michelle Lakhotia – Judice Middle – 8th Grade Math

High School Category

Jeanne E. Aguillard – Early College Academy – 9th-11th Grade Sciences

Sandra Laborde Broussard – Comeaux High – 9th-12th Grade Speech & Debate

Sarah Clavelle – Northside High – 9th-12th Grade Choir

Simone McCrocklin – Comeaux High – 9th-12th Grade Art

Inspirational Category

Amanda Newbery – Itinerate Teacher – Talented Theatre

Tiffany Robin – Lafayette Christian Academy – Pre-Kindergarten

Melissa Wallis – Prairie Elementary – Kindergarten

Milissa Welch – Lafayette High – 9th-12th Grade Sign Language Interpreter