Louisiana's 144 lawmakers are taking their oaths of office Monday and choosing their new leaders.


The House and Senate are expected to back Gov. Bobby Jindal's choices for the leadership positions.

In the Senate, Republican John Alario of Westwego, a one-time floor leader for Edwin Edwards and the longest current serving member of the Legislature, is expected to be chosen Senate president.

Republican Chuck Kleckley of Lake Charles is expected to be tapped for the House speaker's job.

Neither lawmaker faced opposition.

The governor threw his support to Alario and Kleckley within days of the primary election this fall. Nearly all contenders for Senate president and House speaker acquiesced immediately, following a Louisiana tradition of governors holding great power over the selection of legislative leaders.