(Photo by Mark Wilson/Getty Images)

Federal Aid has been made available to the state of Louisiana to supplement state and local response efforts in the areas struck by flooding that began April 25, 2011, and continues  through today. The President's action authorizies FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts in the affected parishes: Avoyelles, Ascension, Assumption, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Iberia, Iberville, LaSalle, Madison, Pointe Coupee, East Baton Rouge, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, Tensas, Terrebonne, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana. Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. Gerald M. Stolar has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.