Acadia Parish residents agreed to a tax to fund a new fire station and equipment. Loreauville residents approved a new property tax to fund sewer maintenance. Vermilion Parish residents funded a number of taxes for library and roads maintenance.

Welsh residents shot down by 61 percent a property tax that would have funded recreation projects in the city. That tax would have raised more than $202,000 annually for 10 years for various recreation initiatives in the town.



District D council member Wayne Landry was re-elected with 65 percent of the vote over his challengers, Kamesha Scott (19 percent) and Marilyn Mitchell (16 percent).


Eddy Lacompte was elected police chief over Toby Wetzel with 17 votes (144 to 127). A full-term election will be decided in November.


In the mayor's race, John Earl Leblanc defeated fellow alderman Tony Richard with 65 percent of the vote for a temporary mayorship that will again be up for vote for a full-term in November. For alderman, Chris Hebert beat Alvin Benoit for 58 percent of the vote.


Mayor Raymond Harris, Jr. was re-elected with 55 percent of the votes cast over challenger Kenny Scelfo, Sr. Lester "Motor" Levine, Jr. took 66 percent of the vote in the councilman-at-large race, defeating Kerry Martin. Chuck Autin won Franklin's District B council seat with a 71 percent vote to defeat Brandon Trahan.


Mayor Kirk Champagne was elected for another term, defeating Gerard "Jerry" Touchet with 62 percent of the vote. In the Alderman at large race, Dirk Gary beat Ronald Schexnaider by 24 votes in a slim, 51-to-49-percent win.


Joseph Irving, Jr. became the town's new alderman after winning a 71 percent vote over opponent Grant Coburn.

St. Landry Parish

District 10 school board contenders Hazel McCrea-Sias (43 percent) and Stephen Woods (24 percent) will also meet again in May's general election.

St. Martinville

Dennis Paul Williams won a District 3 seat, defeating Winnfield Ledet with 54 percent of the vote. Romanus "Ike" Robertson beat Arthur Champ, Jr. by 12 votes for the District 5 seat.

Mayor Thomas Nelson won 45 percent of the vote over his challenger, Melinda Narcisse (31 percent). Those two will be back on the ballot for the May 3 general election. Debra Landry won 39 percent for the District 4 council seat over Nary Smith, Sr. (30 percent). They, too, will be on the May ballot.

[Source: KATC]