New Orleans Saints safety Roman Harper has been nominated by the team for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

The NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year Award is given annually to one player from the league. All 32 teams nominate a single player from their team, before the NFL narrows 32 players down to 3 finalists. The winner will be announced Saturday, February 6th at the “NFL Honors” awards show.

Winners of the prestigious award receive a $50,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Three finalists will be announced in January, with a winner being selected on February 4th.

Last year, former Saints tight end Ben Watson was one of three finalists.

Saints quarterback Drew Brees won the award in 2006, sharing the honor with former San Diego Chargers running back LaDanian Tomlinson.

Former Louisiana Ragin' Cajun and Chicago Bears cornerback Charles "Peanut" Tillman won the award in 2014.


More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL