Due to winter weather that is moving through our state, Commissioner of Administration Kristy Nichols annouces that 26 parishes will have their state offices closed today.

Nichols says the decision was made due to hazardous driving conditions and problems with some power outages in these areas.

The following parishes will have their state offices closed today:

  • Bienville
  • Morehouse
  • Winn
  • DeSoto
  • Red River
  • West Carroll
  • Sabine
  • Evangeline
  • Natchitoches
  • Avoyelles
  • Ouachita
  • Madison
  • East Carroll
  • Vernon
  • Claiborne
  • Catahoula
  • Caddo
  • Jackson
  • Richland
  • Grant
  • Webster
  • Bossier
  • Lincoln
  • Union
  • Franklin
  • Rapides

As weather conditions change across the state today, state officials will continue to monitor those changes, and they may have updated information later in the day.

The information says that the head of each agency is responsible for deciding which essential personnel need to either remain on duty or report to an alternate site.

If you are a state government employee and need updated information about office closures, you can call the following numbers: 1-800-360-9660 or 225-342-0498.

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL