Jindal's choices to lead the legislature were elected almost without opposition. Lake Charles Representative Chuck Kleckly was unanimously voted as Speaker of the House, while the Senate was near unanimous in its support of Westwego Senator John Alario becoming its new leader. Alario, the longest serving member of the legislature, was elected by a 38 to 1 vote in spite of objections from some conservative senators.

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL