Louisiana's Shawn Long, capping one of the most prolific careers in school and Sun Belt Conference history, has been named the league's Student-Athlete of the Year after voting by the league's coaches and select media members.

Long, a senior from Morgan City, led the league in rebounding, blocked shots, offensive rebounds and defensive rebounds.  He was second in the league in scoring and fifth in field goal percentage.

Long recorded 21 double doubles in 29 games this year and has 73 for his career, the most by any active Division I player.  He is also the school's and conference's all time leading rebounder (1,410).  His 2,246 points are fourth in Louisiana basketball history and third in conference history.

Long needs just four points to become the second player in modern history (since 1973) to record 2,250 points and 1,400 rebounds.

Long had nine games this season with at least 20 points and 15 rebounds.

Chris Beard, the first year coach at Little Rock was named the league's Coach of the Year, while Tookie Brown of Georgia Southern was named Freshman of the Year.  Justin Roberson of ULM was named the league's top defensive player

Joining Long on the SBC first team is ULM's Majok Deng, Josh Hagins of Little Rock, Brown and UT Arlington's Erick Neal.

Roberson was named to the second team along with Frank Eaves of Appalachian State, Wesley Person of Troy, Anthony Livingston of Arkansas State and Marcus Johnson, Jr. of Little Rock.

Third team honorees were Devin Carter of Arkansas State, Mike Hughes of Georgia Southern, Ken Williams of South Alabama, Emani Gant of Texas State and Roger Woods of Little Rock.

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL