BATON ROUGE, La. (KPEL) -- Lafayette Rep. Vincent Pierre has been tapped to serve as the chairman for the Acadiana Legislative Delegation.

Pierre, a Democrat, was elected without opposition. Outgoing chairman Sen. Jonathan Perry did not seek reelection, according to a release from the Louisiana House of Representatives.

"Our constituents in the Acadiana area can have faith that their voice, concerns, and interest will be our priority as we move through this session," Pierre said. "I am humbled to accept this leadership role as Chairman of the Acadiana Delegation and look forward to working with fellow legislators in our 22 parish region."

Pierre appointed Rep. Ledricka Thierry, Rep. Terry Landry, Rep. Michael Danahay, Sen. Fred Mills, Rep. Johnny Berthelot, and Rep. Joel Robideaux to serve on the delegation's executive committee, according to the release.



More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL