The federal government has declared five more parishes in Louisiana eligible for disaster aid as a result of Hurricane Delta. Those parishes are Beauregard, Lafayette, Rapides, St. Landry and St. Martin.

Homeowners and renters in those parishes may now apply for federal disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Delta.

To be eligible, damage and losses from the hurricane must have occurred as a result of Delta from October 6-10, 2020. The deadline to register will be December 16, 2020.

These parishes join Acadia, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis and Vermilion, which were previously included in the federal declaration to assist homeowners and renters.

Keep in mind that if you already registered with FEMA after Hurricane Laura, you will again have to register to qualify for Hurricane Delta.

The following are the different ways you can register with FEMA should you live in one of these parishes:

A reminder that FEMA assistance alone cannot make survivors whole. These disaster assistance programs are designed to help with grants for basic repairs to make homes safe, sanitary and secure and to provide a temporary place to live while survivors formulate plans to recover.

For the latest information regarding Hurricane Delta, visit or follow the FEMA Region 6 Twitter page at


Things You Want or Need After Surviving A Hurricane

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL