The Lafayette City Council will take a small step towards deconsolidating Lafayette Consolidated Government during its meeting tonight.

The council will appoint members of its Save the City Committee during its regular session at 5:30 p.m. The five members of the city council each received one appointment. The five council-appointed committee members are Joseph Catalon, Mark Pope, Roddy Bergeron, Jan Swift, and Tina Bingham Shelvin.

Nineteen others have applied for the two at-large positions on that committee. You may view their résumés below.

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL