Lafayette Parish School System is pleased to announce the finalist for the 2017-2018 Teacher and Principal of the Year awards. Every year, exemplary teachers and principals from the district are selected for their outstanding commitment to the students of Lafayette Parish. These district finalists will continue to compete for the top state recognition.

This year, 44 teachers were selected as nominees for the award. Each nominee submitted an application, lesson plan, and a video. A special committee scored each application according to the state’s rubric, recommending nominees to the interview committee. The six finalists chosen for the awards are:

Teacher of the Year
Elementary School:
-Sarah Gros, J. W. Faulk Elementary

Middle School:
-Ivy Wiltz, Acadian Middle

High School:
-Christine McCrory, Lafayette High

Principal of the Year
Elementary School:
-Janine LaFleur, S. J. Montgomery

Middle School:
-John Mouton, Broussard Middle

High School:
-Anne Castille, Early College Academy

Dr. Aguillard recognized and congratulated each finalist personally through surprise visits at each candidate’s school on Friday, January 13, 2017. “Congratulations to all teachers who were selected as Teacher of the Year for their school. It is a great honor to recognize the district’s finalist at their schools in front of their peers and students. The committee did an excellent job selecting the teacher finalists. And, congratulations to the Principals of the Year. It was rewarding to recognize this award in front of students and staff,” said Dr. Aguillard.

Lafayette Parish School System congratulates the finalist and wishes them well as they compete for the state’s top honors.

(Press release from the Lafayette Parish School System)

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL