A measure to create six new taxing districts in Lafayette was advanced by the Lafayette City-Parish Council at last night's meeting. The introductory ordinance, which was brought by Mayor-President Joel Robideaux, passed in a 7-2 vote.

The proposed taxing districts include:

  • Trappey's along the Vermilion River (future Riverwalk development)
  • Northway (including Northgate Mall)
  • Downtown Lafayette
  • Holy Rosary
  • Acadiana Mall
  • University Gateway.

Those councilmembers who voted for the taxing districts include Kevin Naquin, Jay Castille, Pat Lewis, Kenneth Boudreaux, Bruce Conque, Nanette Cook and Liz Hebert. Jared Bellard and William Theriot voted against the measure.

Final approval is set for December 17th at the regularly-scheduled council meeting.

Lafayette City-Parish Councilwoman Liz Webb Hebert joins Rob Kirkpatrick and Bernadette Lee on "Acadiana's Morning News" to discuss the creation of new Lafayette Taxing Districts and the vote the Council took on Tuesday night.


More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL