BATON ROUGE, La. - The United States Department of Education (USDOE) has recognized four Louisiana public schools as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools program honors schools that are either high performing or have closed achievement gaps, especially among minority or disadvantaged students. Nominated schools submit applications to the USDOE for the award.

For 2014, the USDOE selected the following schools as award recipients:

  • Joseph J. Davies Elementary School, St. Bernard Parish
  • Parkview Elementary School, East Baton Rouge Parish
  • Rosepine High School, Vernon Parish
  • Tchefuncte Middle School, St. Tammany Parish

These four schools will be honored November 10-11, 2014, during an awards ceremony in Washington D.C., where each school will receive an engraved plaque and flag signifying its status.

"We want to congratulate these schools and districts for being recognized with this distinguished, national award," said State Superintendent John White. "Our students are just as smart and capable as any in the country. These schools are proving that every day through the exceptional work they are doing with students in the classroom."

"It's always a pleasure to celebrate the success of our schools. We want to thank the educators, staff, and students in these school communities for their dedication and work to increase achievement, which is clearly benefitting our students," said Chas Roemer, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education president. "It is also important that we remain focused on accountability and high standards in order to keep the positive momentum going and ensure continued improvement."

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) will consider the selection criteria for 2015 Blue Ribbon award recipients at its October meeting.