Three former Louisiana football stars are among the eight that will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. Former Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed went to Destrehan High School. His defensive coordinator at Destrehan and current Wildcats head coach Stephen Robicheaux says it’s a well-deserved honor.

“He spent countless hours in the film room, the first one in the weight room, he had the natural ability, but he was one of those guys who took it to another level,” said Robichaux.

Reed spent 12 years in the NFL and holds the record for interception return yards.

Two former LSU Tigers are also part of the 2019 Hall of Fame Class, Johnny Robinson, and Kevin Mawae. Executive Deputy athletics director Verge Ausberry says what an honor for two LSU legends.

“How many schools can say they have two people going into the NFL Hall of Fame Year in the same year, said Ausberry. “We are very fortunate, we are very blessed, two great players in different eras they played in, we are so happy at LSU.”

Robinson was an All-SEC running back on the Tigers 1958 national championship team. When he got to the NFL, he changed positions and was a standout safety for the Chiefs.

Mawae was an all-conference performer on the offensive line for the Tigers in the early 1990s. In the NFL, he was a seven-time All-Pro selection. The former Leesville Wampus Cat also served two terms as the president of the NFL Players Association.

More From News Talk 96.5 KPEL